Wings: Love Is Strange

I remember being down in LA (Anaheim) with my mother. She was visiting her friend Teresa; she hadn’t seen her since college.

Meanwhile, in my little world, I had saved dozens of Coke bottle tops for weeks in order to exchange them for Wings Wild Life, the latest album by Paul McCartney at a Tower Records nearby. This had to be somewhere between ’71 & ’72, right? I remember being excited as I’d never been before in my entire life. I also received a demo record of this now famous Coke jingle/song.

Crouched quietly in Mom’s friend’s, living room…huddled close to the barely-audible record player, turned down low so as not to disturb anyone in the kitchen… I walked through a portal with no idea of what was on the other side.

220px-Wings_Wild_Life

This song (and the entire album, as a matter of fact) confused my seriously undeveloped brain at the time as I’d never heard anything like it before.  Now, I know Love Is Strange to be one seriously bad-ass song. But, over the years, I’ve come to think that the solo guitar was a bit weak…I would’ve gone seriously Led Zepplin on that middle 8. That being said, I hope you enjoy it. B$

Wings: Love Is Strange

What did ya think?

