George Harrison: About I Me Mine

Whenever I get too full of myself (which happens more than I care to admit) I put on the earbuds and play I Me Mine. We all need to step back and remind ourselves that we’re NOT the center of the universe. We are, after all, human and the biggest human frailty is EGO, in my humble, yet egotistical opinion.

Here, I first present George explaining I Me Mine in his own words, followed by the Let it Be – NAKED version. the ‘Wall of Sound‘ version and finally the lyrics.

My preference is for the Let It Be – NAKED version without all that ‘Wall of Sound’ crap.

However, the ‘Wall of Sound’ version has some stuff in it that is cool and unique that I think is very important for you to hear. Grab some headsets and listen carefully.

This song, is in fact, one of the last songs (chronologically) that the Beatles ever recorded. John had already left the band. From Take 15 of the song:
"You all will have read that Dave Dee is no longer with us. But Mickey and Tich and I would just like to carry on the good work that's always gone down in number two [EMI Studio 2]."

I Me Mine by George Harrison

All through the day
I me mine, I me mine, I me mine
All through the night
I me mine, I me mine, I me mine

Now they’re frightened of leaving it
Everyone’s weaving it
Coming on strong all the time
All through the day I me mine

I me me mine
I me me mine
I me me mine
I me me mine

All I can hear
I me mine, I me mine, I me mine
Even those tears
I me mine, I me mine, I me mine

No one’s frightened of playing it
Everyone’s saying it
Flowing more freely than wine
All through the day I me mine

I me me mine
I me me mine
I me me mine
I me me mine

All I can hear
I me mine, I me mine, I me mine
Even those tears
I me mine, I me mine, I me mine

No one’s frightened of playing it
Everyone’s saying it
Flowing more freely than wine
All through your life I me mine

George Harrison: About I Me Mine

What did ya think?

